Did I Mention That I’m 84 Years Old?

2 Feb

My name is Olivia Hawks, and I am 84 years old.

 

Today after my daily afternoon nap, I found myself doing something unforgivable.  I was…knitting.  But not just knitting, I was knitting while watching Golden Girls, and laughing – OUT LOUD, while my roommate TOTALLY judged me – but I love those girls!  Oh Lawd, do I love that show or what!  Oprah came on, loves it!, and an hour later I found myself watching The Beverly Hillbillies – my recent obsession.  I actually look forward to seeing Granny get all worked up.  Ten inches of scarf later, I decided to get up and get ready for a night out, however, I got distracted by The Andy Griffith Show.  Opie was struggling in school, I’ve seen the episode before – my Dad’s got the DVD’s – but I had to see how it ended.

I am from another era.  I hear that all the time.  Unfortunately – it’s true.

3 Responses to “Did I Mention That I’m 84 Years Old?”

  1. Bekka February 2, 2008 at 2:56 am #

    oh olivia, may i call you nana? all you need is a cigg and a game of poker and you’ll be my raging alcoholic nana. i miss her. anyhoo, you’re such a lady, old lady that is. can you knit me a scarf? i’m moving to wyoming i hear it’s cold up there.

  2. Olivia February 2, 2008 at 11:27 pm #

    I’ve been working on this scarf for three years, I can finally see the finish line. I do not plan on finishing another scarf for another three years. I do not smoke, and I do not eat meat, like Nana. We are two VERY different people – same age, mind you – but very different people.

  3. Bekka February 4, 2008 at 4:22 am #

    nana didn’t eat meat, her fake teeth couldn’t handle it.

Leave a comment